2011 CFDA Awards Excitement

  • by Corrie Shenigo
  • posted at 6:03 pm
  • June 7, 2011

Lady Gaga 2011 CFDA Awards

The fashion awards were flying last night as the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) held their annual awards ceremony celebrating the very best in fashion. From childhood modeling shots of host Anderson Cooper, to Kanye West striding onstage to the beat… of his own song, to Lady Gaga’s enormously trained gown (which she later removed to reveal her signature thong) and even more enormous platform shelved shoes – the night was the spectacle one would expect from such a flamboyantly fabulous crowd. Gaga, who was honored with a CFDA Fashion Icon Award, even shared a story about receiving a congratulatory text from Vogue editor-in-chief Anna Wintour. Yes. Apparently Anna texts.

Anna Wintour 2011 CFDA Awards

Jack McCoullough, muse Liv Tyler and Lazaro Hernandez 2011 CFDA Awards

Big winner’s of the coveted Womenswear Designer of the Year, Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez added this most recent honor to their already full shelf of CFDA nods including their ’03 CFDA Perry Ellis Award for new talent, their ’07 CFDA Womenswear Designer of the Year award, and their ’09 CFDA Accessory Designer of the Year Award. And while the duo is obviously no stranger to these coveted awards, the win still came as a surprise. “It was so nerve-wracking, the whole build-up to it.” exuded McCoullough afterwards, “It just gets more and more terrifying as each year passes. You think you’d kind of get a little more comfortable with it, but it’s quite the opposite.”

Other honorees and winners included: Michael Bastian (Menswear Designer of the Year), Alexander Wang (Accessory Designer of the Year), Prabal Gurung (Swarovski Award for Womenswear), Eddie Borgo (Swarovski Award for Accessory Design), Robert Geller (Swarovski Award for Menswear), Marc Jacobs (Geoffrey Been Lifetime Achievement Award), Arther Elgort (CFDA Board of Directors Special Tribute), Hilary Alexander of The Telegraph (Eugenia Sheppard Media Award), Hal Rubenstein of InStyle (Eleanor Lambert Founders Award), Phoebe Philo for Celine (International Award).

PoshBeauty.com sends out a big congrats to everyone honored at CFDA’s 2011 awards ceremony!

    Show Comments

    No Comments

    Add comment